Posts: 41
Threads: 4
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
0
(11-15-2019, 04:44 PM)trinidad link Wrote: Network Manager can be quirky with things that involve changing some drivers not in a repository kernel version.
I agree. That's why I'd prefer to just do something simple from the command line or edit a config file.
Quote:run the following: Code:
nmcli connection show
Here's what I got:
Code:
NAME UUID TYPE DEVICE
FiOS-QW2C2 43e439c1-0deb-4bef-bf29-865d0b1e435a wifi wlp2s0
Ethernet connection 1 9a0f134d-25df-449e-9b5d-91eb6a5d11d0 ethernet --
Wired connection 1 281e9d38-5cd1-32b3-94eb-2a700fffc690 ethernet --
Quote:And then run: nmcli connection up 'Wired connection 1' (or whichever you wish to activate)
I tried it and for Ethernet connection 1, and got:
Code:
Error: Connection activation failed: No suitable device found for this connection.
After that, I stopped.
Thank you for your help on this.
For the rest of you following this thread, it may be a while before I can try much else. I just got here, and I have a busy weekend planned, but I will get to all the posts. I really appreciate all the help.
jerryc, not to be confused with the real Jerry who developed this distro.
Posts: 41
Threads: 4
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
0
(11-12-2019, 08:52 PM)Jerry link Wrote: Also, output please of:
In relevant part:
Code:
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: 82578DC Gigabit Network Connection
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 19
bus info: pci@0000:00:19.0
logical name: enp0s25
version: 06
serial: 60:eb:69:de:64:ec
capacity: 1Gbit/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=e1000e driverversion=3.2.6-k firmware=0.12-5 latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=twisted pair
resources: irq:26 memory:fbec0000-fbedffff memory:fbef8000-fbef8fff ioport:e880(size=32)
Quote:and
Code:
dmesg | grep -e eth -e e1000
Code:
[ 1.323272] e1000e: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Driver - 3.2.6-k
[ 1.323273] e1000e: Copyright(c) 1999 - 2015 Intel Corporation.
[ 1.323509] e1000e 0000:00:19.0: Interrupt Throttling Rate (ints/sec) set to dynamic conservative mode
[ 1.510496] e1000e 0000:00:19.0 eth0: (PCI Express:2.5GT/s:Width x1) 60:eb:69:de:64:ec
[ 1.510497] e1000e 0000:00:19.0 eth0: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Connection
[ 1.510533] e1000e 0000:00:19.0 eth0: MAC: 9, PHY: 9, PBA No: FFFFFF-0FF
[ 1.515662] e1000e 0000:00:19.0 enp0s25: renamed from eth0
[ 2.243320] Modules linked in: hid_generic usbhid hid i915(+) psmouse ahci i2c_algo_bit libahci drm_kms_helper syscopyarea e1000e sysfillrect sysimgblt fb_sys_fops ptp pps_core drm wmi video
Thank you for your help.
jerryc, not to be confused with the real Jerry who developed this distro.
Posts: 41
Threads: 4
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
0
(11-12-2019, 08:37 PM)Jerry link Wrote: Some report a fix by having the latest BIOS installed.
I think I'll try that later if nothing else works. The chip works with the bios on win7.
Thank you.
jerryc, not to be confused with the real Jerry who developed this distro.
Posts: 41
Threads: 4
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
0
(11-15-2019, 04:44 PM)trinidad link Wrote: run: nmcli dev status
This will show if the correct logical name 'enp0s25' of your device is listed as up.
Here's what I got:
Code:
DEVICE TYPE STATE CONNECTION
wlp2s0 wifi connected FiOS-QW2C2
enp0s25 ethernet unavailable --
lo loopback unmanaged --
Quote:If all this is correct and there is still no connection make sure your firewall is configured correctly. Perhaps you changed it at some point and forgot about it.
Checked it. Proper settings for home computer.
Quote:If all is well there and you are still not connected you can try changing the ifupdown plugin configuration in your /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf file from false to true.
Checked it. It's already configured to true.
Thank you. I feel confident we'll get it this weekend.
jerryc, not to be confused with the real Jerry who developed this distro.
Posts: 1,849
Threads: 21
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation:
0
(11-16-2019, 11:04 AM)jerryc link Wrote: Here's what I got:
Code:
DEVICE TYPE STATE CONNECTION
wlp2s0 wifi connected FiOS-QW2C2
enp0s25 ethernet unavailable --
lo loopback unmanaged --
Thank you. I feel confident we'll get it this weekend.
HHMM Unavailable... maybe reseat the cable for kicks..
and still be curious if 'ifup' brings it up..
Code:
sudo ifdown enp0s25
then
sudo ifup enp0s25
Check a few commands - if state changes .... Hoping for UP LOL
LL4.8 UEFI 64 bit ASUS E402W - AMD E2 (Quad) 1.5Ghz - 4GB - AMD Mullins Radeon R2
LL5.8 UEFI 64 bit Test UEFI Kangaroo (Mobile Desktop) - Atom X5-Z8500 1.44Ghz - 2GB - Intel HD Graphics
LL4.8 64 bit HP 6005- AMD Phenom II X2 - 8GB - AMD/ATI RS880 (HD4200)
LL3.8 32 bit Dell Inspiron Mini - Atom N270 1.6Ghz - 1GB - Intel Mobile 945GSE Express -- Shelved
BACK LL5.8 64 bit Dell Optiplex 160 (Thin) - Atom 230 1.6Ghz - 4GB-SiS 771/671 PCIE VGA - Print Server
Running Linux Lite since LL2.2
Posts: 1,511
Threads: 140
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation:
0
No suitable device was found. The issue is with the driver not working/wrong/ or not installed correctly/ or with the device permissions i/e Network Manager permissions to the device. Network Manager seems to be working properly though.
You can check your /etc/network/interfaces file for eth configuration though I expect all is already there properly.
https://wiki.debian.org/NetworkConfigura..._Interface
Your probably going to be stuck re-configuring the driver.
TC
All opinions expressed and all advice given by Trinidad Cruz on this forum are his responsibility alone and do not necessarily reflect the views or methods of the developers of Linux Lite. He is a citizen of the United States where it is acceptable to occasionally be uninformed and inept as long as you pay your taxes.
Posts: 41
Threads: 4
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
0
(11-16-2019, 03:47 PM)trinidad link Wrote: No suitable device was found. The issue is with the driver not working/wrong/ or not installed correctly/ or with the device permissions i/e Network Manager permissions to the device. Network Manager seems to be working properly though.
You can check your /etc/network/interfaces file for eth configuration though I expect all is already there properly.
https://wiki.debian.org/NetworkConfigura..._Interface
Nope, /etc/network/interfaces only had:
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
So, I added:
Code:
# manual additions to get ethernet to work
auto enp0s25
allow-hotplug enp0s25
iface enp0s25 inet dhcp
Then ran:
And got:
Code:
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client 4.3.5
Copyright 2004-2016 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/
Listening on LPF/enp0s25/60:eb:69:de:64:ec
Sending on LPF/enp0s25/60:eb:69:de:64:ec
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on enp0s25 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3 (xid=0x6ee01246)
DHCPDISCOVER on enp0s25 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 5 (xid=0x6ee01246)
...
[about a dozen more tries] ...
DHCPDISCOVER on enp0s25 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 18 (xid=0x6ee01246)
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
Even though we're not there yet, I think this is progress.
Thank you for your help.
jerryc, not to be confused with the real Jerry who developed this distro.
Posts: 8,898
Threads: 542
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation:
5
I take it, the dkms debian driver didn't work?
Posts: 41
Threads: 4
Joined: Nov 2019
Reputation:
0
(11-17-2019, 11:30 AM)Jerry link Wrote: I take it, the dkms debian driver didn't work?
I still have wireless and can get by with that for a while, so I'm hoping for something like a simple config setting to fix it before I try changing a kernel driver, even with a deb package. Maybe I'm being overly cautious, but I'm also concerned, even with a new driver, there's still a config issue somewhere.
Did the readouts you asked for tell you anything?
Thank you for everything.
jerryc, not to be confused with the real Jerry who developed this distro.
Posts: 1,511
Threads: 140
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation:
0
This is awfully dated but have you tried adding: pcie_aspm=off into the kernel parameters? See the old link below:
https://serverfault.com/questions/193114...do-i-start
TC
All opinions expressed and all advice given by Trinidad Cruz on this forum are his responsibility alone and do not necessarily reflect the views or methods of the developers of Linux Lite. He is a citizen of the United States where it is acceptable to occasionally be uninformed and inept as long as you pay your taxes.